"Just played a role": the coach revealed what really happened in the Usyk-Dubois fight
Famous American trainer who worked with British super heavyweight Dillian Whyte and former British challenger Dereck Chisora Xavier Miller commented on the scandalous situation in the fight of IBF/WBO/WBA heavyweight champion Oleksandr Usyk (21-0, 14 KOs) against Daniel Dubois (19-1, 18 KOs). The referee didn't count the Brit's kick between Usyk's legs in the 5th round, giving the Ukrainian 5 minutes to recover.
According to Miller, it was a legal punch and there's no doubt about it, but Oleksandr's experience was key at this moment.
"He knew what to do at that time to get the rest he needed. Boxing people know what happens when you get hit below the belt or when you get hit with a legitimate body kick. It takes your breath away. We know that. He played that role. He played that role very, very well," Vringe quotes a translation of Miller's interview on the Seconds Out YouTube channel.
The American specialist believes that the Ukrainian had nothing else to do.
"He needed extra time. He realized that he was on the canvas, and he stayed there acting as if it was a punch below the belt. He got the recovery time he needed and came back. He recovered and went on to defeat Dubois," Miller concluded.
As reported by OBOZREVATEL, there was video evidence of Dubois hitting Usyk below the belt on purpose.
Later, a catman and trainer Russ Anber, who once worked with Oleksandr Usyk, visited Sky Sports studio where he analyzed this episode, citing undeniable facts of foul play.