"A radical decision": Dubois' sister explained what happened in the fight with Usyk
Famous British boxer Caroline Dubois (6-0, 5 KOs) spoke about her brother Daniel's fight against WBA, WBO and IBF heavyweight title holder Oleksandr Usyk (21-0, 14 KOs). The referee did not count a punch between Usyk's legs in the 5th round, giving our compatriot 5 minutes to recover.
The 22-year-old Youth Olympic Games champion saw no violation of the rules. The titled athlete is convinced that the referee was in a hurry, recognizing the punch as illegitimate, as he was pressured by the public and the status of the Ukrainian boxer.
"Referees don't always make the right decisions. We saw this in the Rolando Romero fight and other fights. Sometimes they (decisions) are hasty and even radical. The situation is also influenced by the audience and the particular moment," Dubois shared her emotions on the Boxing News YouTube channel.
Caroline is convinced that the judge could not have acted differently in the circumstances.
"I think it was Usyk's moment. The whole stadium came to cheer for him. That's why Daniel had to enter the ring without any hopes for favor from the referee or anyone else. He had to go out and work as number one, rewriting the course of history and changing his life. Unfortunately, he couldn't do it," the boxer added.
It should be noted that the punch below the belt in the 5th round caused a lot of discussions in the boxing world. For example, the former IBO super lightweight champion and now a reputable American trainer Jeff Mayweather hinted that the pain from the hit was allegedly played up by Usyk.
At the same time, the trainer and trainer Russ Anber, who once worked with Oleksandr Usyk, came to the Sky Sports studio, where he analyzed this episode in the Ukrainian's fight, citing the undeniable facts of the British foul play.