EU extends free roaming for Ukraine: new list of operators

Free roaming in the EU will be valid for another 12 months
Free roaming in the EU will be valid for another 12 months. Source: thomas vanhaecht / pexels.com

For another year, Ukrainians will be able to call the European Union (EU) without additional roaming charges. The list of European telecom operators has been slightly expanded.

This became possible because the European Commission extended roaming with Ukraine for another 12 months. This was reported by the European Commission's press service on July 10.

"The Commission welcomes the fifth extension for another twelve months of the voluntary agreement between 22 European and seven Ukrainian telecommunications operators, which aims to ensure that refugees from Ukraine can stay in touch," the official statement said.

The European Commission called on all Ukrainian and European telecommunications operators to join the agreement. So far, 7 Ukrainian and 21 European operators have joined the agreement. Ukrainians can make free calls to the EU from the following numbers:

  • Lifecell;
  • Kyivstar;
  • Vodafone;
  • Ukrtelecom;
  • Vega White;
  • 3Mob;
  • Data Group.
List of Ukrainian and European operators that support free roaming

Who will be able to use free roaming

Thus, by July 2025, Ukrainians living in the EU countries will be able to communicate with their loved ones without additional roaming charges, explained Mykhailo Fedorov, Vice Prime Minister for Innovation, Education, Science and Technology. In addition, subscribers of European operators will be able to use their home tariffs in Ukraine.

"We are grateful to the European Commission, BEREC, NCEC, and operators for their joint efforts to ensure that Ukrainians in Europe always stay connected," Fedorov added. He reminded me that Ukraine is currently working on joining EuroRoaming.

Ukraine's accession to the EU roaming zone

For the first time, international calls between the EU and Ukraine became free after a joint statement was signed by Ukrainian and European telecom operators in April 2022. A year later, the EU-Ukraine Association Committee supported the European Commission's proposal for Ukraine to join the European roaming area.

To this end, Ukrainian legislation began to be amended to comply with EU standards. The relevant bill was passed by the Verkhovna Rada and signed by President Volodymyr Zelenskyy on June 19. However, for Ukraine to fully integrate into the EU roaming zone, it is necessary to adopt related laws.

As a result, the European Commission will assess the extent to which Ukrainian legislation complies with EU standards. If the assessment is positive and approved by the 27 EU member states and the EU-Ukraine Association Committee, Ukraine will become part of the European roaming area.

Only verified information on our Telegram channel OBOZ.UA and Viber. Do not fall for fakes!

Other News

How to cook asparagus deliciously at home

How to cook asparagus correctly to make it healthy: tips and recipe from the chef

You can eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner