"I don't know why he did that". Arum pointed out a puzzling moment in the Usyk - Dubois fight
Famous American promoter Bob Arum for the first time commented on the scandalous situation in the fight of IBF/WBO/WBA heavyweight champion Oleksandr Usyk (21-0, 14 KOs) vs. Daniel Dubois (19-1, 18 KOs). In the 5th round, the referee did not count the Briton's kick between Usik's legs, giving the Ukrainian 5 minutes to recover.
The head of Top Rank doesn't understand why the British fighter surrendered exactly after throwing an illegal punch to Oleksandr.
"It was a banned punch. It's possible that the referee gave Usyk a little more time to recover than he needed, but I watched the fight on TV and it was a low blow. It seems to me that after that low blow, Dubois gave up. I don't know why he did that," Arum told YouTube channel iFL TV.
The American added that if the bout with Tyson Fury takes place, Usyk will give the WVA champion a lot of trouble.
As reported OBOZREVATEL, earlier there was video evidence that Dubois purposely hit Usyk below the belt.
Later, catman and trainer Russ Anber, who once worked with Oleksandr Usyk, came to the Sky Sports studio where he laid out this episode in the Ukrainian's fight, citing undeniable facts of f oul play.