Two countries withdraw their signatures to the Peace Summit communiqué: what's going on

Iraq and Jordan withdraw their signatures to the communiqué. Source: Office of the President

Iraq and Jordan have withdrawn their signatures from the Global Peace Summit communiqué. Earlier it was known that the document was supported by 80 countries.

This message appeared on the website of the Swiss government. At the moment, the number of signatories to the open document is 78.

The reasons for the withdrawal of the signatures of these two countries are currently unknown.

It is worth noting that the signatories include not only countries but also four organizations: The Council of Europe, the European Commission, the European Council and the European Parliament.

Among those who did not sign the communiqué are Saudi Arabia, Thailand, India, Mexico, South Africa, Brazil, and the United Arab Emirates.

Also, according to media reports, Armenia, Bahrain, the Vatican, Indonesia, Libya, Thailand, the delegations of the Patriarchate of Constantinople, the Organization of American States, the OSCE, and the UN did not sign the document. Some delegations participated in the summit as "observers".

The Vatican also did not sign the final declaration of the Swiss conference on Ukraine, as it was present as an observer.

"The Vatican does not sign final declarations, which corresponds to its status as an observer," the local press service said.

As reported, on June 16, Switzerland hosted the second and final day of the Peace Summit, which was attended by more than 100 delegations from different countries and international organizations.

It was also reported that analysts at the US Institute for the Study of War believe that Putin managed to "crash" the Summit in Switzerland with a misleading statement about "peaceful" negotiations. Putin voiced a series of ultimatum demands, including the disarmament of Ukraine, the lifting of sanctions against Russia and the consent of the Ukrainian authorities, and the demand to officially return not only Crimea but also the regions partially occupied by Russia within their administrative borders to Russia on June 14.

Only verified information is available on the OBOZ.UA Telegram channel and Viber. Do not fall for fakes!

Other News

How to cook couscous correctly

How to cook couscous properly to make it healthy: 5 secrets

Knowing them, you can preserve all the beneficial properties of the product