It's official. FIFA has changed the rules of the World Cup

Maxim InshakovLife
World Cup
World Cup

The International Football Federation (FIFA) has abandoned the traditional format of the 32-team World Cup. The proposed innovation with 16 groups of 3 teams each was also rejected. The 2026 World Cup will be hosted by the United States, Mexico and Canada.

The 2026 World Cup will feature 48 teams divided into 12 quartets for the first time. The tournament will last 39 days, during which 104 matches will be played. The first two places from each group, as well as the top 8 third places, will advance to the last 16.

"The revised format reduces the risk of collusion and ensures that all teams play at least three matches, while providing balanced rest time between competing teams," the FIFA website says.


Recall that the current owner of the most coveted cup in the world is Argentina. Messi and his partners defeated France in the final of the 2022 World Cup.


As reported OBOZREVATEL, Ukraine is excluded from a joint bid with Spain and Portugal to host the FIFA World Cup 2030.


Only verified information in our Telegram channel Obozrevatel and in Viber.Do not be fooled by fakes!

Other News

Scientists have figured out how to defeat the 'Everest gene' that causes cancer growth

Scientists have figured out how to defeat the "Everest gene" that causes cancer growth

This gene is responsible for supporting the growth and development of other cancer-causing genes