Is it really necessary to close background apps on iPhone and iPad
There is a common belief that applications minimised on an iPhone or iPad should be closed completely to improve productivity and save battery power. But in fact, this has nothing to do with reality.
OBOZREVATEL tells what is written about this myth on the official Apple forum.
What is the essence of the myth
According to a common theory, an iPhone or iPad leaves recently minimised apps running in the background. Allegedly, in order to speed up the gadget, you need to close these applications completely.
To do this, swipe from bottom to top on the unlocked screen, calling up the last apps and closing them.
It is believed that applications running in the background should be closed because they affect performance and drain the battery.
Background applications: close or not
The short answer is very simple - there is no point in closing applications, as this will not improve performance or affect battery consumption.
To explain in more detail, it's worth noting that minimised apps don't run in the background, but are "suspended" there. This means that even if you have 100 applications minimised, they will not interfere with your gadget's operation and will not affect the battery charge.
You can verify this by opening Settings and going to Battery. There you will see a list of applications with the percentage of battery consumption over the past 24 hours.
On the same page, you can click Show activity and see how long a particular application was open and how long it was running in the background. Based on this data, you can decide whether to close the application completely.
Interestingly, the idea that closing apps completely will make your phone faster is also a misconception. The fact is that when an app is restarted from a "suspended" state, it consumes much less resources than when it is completely restarted.
Closing such applications also does not affect the RAM in any way, since it contains only the last few minimised applications, while all other applications are "suspended" and their information is stored in a system file in the main memory.
Should apps never be closed completely?
There is really only one case when you should close an app completely. If you realise that it's clearly not working the way it should, feel free to close it.
This way, by closing the app and launching it again, you should get rid of the possible error in its operation.
Earlier, OBOZREVATEL told how to back up your iPhone without an iCloud subscription.
Subscribe to OBOZREVATEL's Telegram and Viber channels to keep up with the latest news.